HERKIMER COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Regular Meeting - March 19, 2009

Chairman Snyder called the meeting to order at 6:18 p.m. in the Hummel Corporate and Professional Education Center, Room 282-283

Trustees attending: Mr. Snyder, Mr. Luther, Mr. Accattato, Mr. Armstrong, Mrs. Crandall, Mr. Russell, Mr. Barbato, Mrs. Clark, Mr. Dunn*

Trustees absent: Miss Liu

In Attendance: Dr. Murray, Mr. Laino, Dr. Murphy, Dr. Hawes, Mrs. Semo, Ms. Ruffing

Guests: Mr. Thomas Barthel, Mr. Kalman Socolof, Ms. Cynthia Gabriel, Ms. Jackie Woudenberg

*Mr. Dunn participated via video conference. He was able to see the participants at HCCC, and the board was able to see him.

Mr. Armstrong moved that the minutes of the February 26, 2009 meeting be approved. Mrs. Crandall seconded the motion. Vote-Unanimous

EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 6:21 p.m., Mr. Accattato moved that the Board adjourn to Executive Session to discuss, under provisions of Section 105 of Article 7 of the Public Officers law, as follows:

- to discuss propose, pending or current litigation;
- the medical, financial, credit or employment history of a particular person or corporation, or matters leading to the appointment, employment, promotion, demotion, discipline, suspension, dismissal or removal of a particular person or corporation

Mr. Armstrong seconded the motion Vote - Unanimous

At 7:21 p.m., Mr. Accattato moved that the Board reconvene. Mr. Barbato seconded the motion. Vote – Unanimous

PRESENTATIONS

Dr. Murphy gave a PowerPoint presentation on the upcoming visit from the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). The board members were asked to RSVP to the welcome reception and the luncheon that includes only board members and the MSCHE team.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

The proposal on recommended calendar changes remained tabled.

Mr. Russell made a motion to form two committees: Finance/Facility/Audit and Personnel. Mr. Armstrong seconded the motion.

The ensuing discussion resulted in Mr. Russell, Mr. Armstrong and Mr. Dunn volunteering to serve on the Finance/Facility/Audit Committee and Mr. Luther, Mrs. Crandall, Mr. Snyder and Mrs. Clark volunteering to serve on the Personnel Committee. The Executive Council will create a schedule of committee meetings for review and adoption of the Board of Trustees

Vote – 8 in favor, 1 opposed. Motion carried.

Dr. Matthew Hawes introduced Resolution 08-18 (Out of County Student GPA & GED Admissions Requirement). This resolution requires all out of county first year/full time applicants, as well as out of county transfer students to have a required high school GPA of 65 or above, or a GED score of 2400 to gain immediate admission to HCCC. Those out of county students failing to meet this criteria will be placed on a "wait list." This new policy will begin in the spring, 2010 semester.

Mr. Dunn made a motion to approve Resolution 08-18 as presented. Mr. Accattato seconded the motion. Vote-8 in favor, 1 opposed. Motion carried.

Mr. Accattato had to leave at this juncture of the meeting.

Dr. Daniel Murphy introduced Resolution 08-17 (Change to Readmit and Dismissal Policy). This resolution clarifies that students are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress by maintaining a GPA of at least 2.0 or higher. Academic status is determined by the student's cumulative GPA and the number of credit hours earned, according to a table of variables that outline the minimum measures expected for satisfactory progress.

Mr. Russell made a motion to approve Resolution 08-17 with an amended implementation date of fall 2009.

Mr. Barbato seconded the motion.

Vote to accept Resolution 08-17 as amended – Unanimous.

Mrs. Angela Semo presented Resolution 08-15 (MOU – Four-Day Work Week – Summer 2009). This resolution adopts the Four-Day Work Week Schedule beginning the week of June 15, 2009 and ending on August 14, 2009 for a total of 8 Fridays (excluding Friday, July 3rd). The resolution also authorizes the execution of the Memorandums of Agreement between the HCCC Professional Association and the Herkimer County Unit 7100 of the Civil Service Employees Association.

Mr. Russell made a motion to approve Resolution 08-15 as presented. Mr. Luther seconded the motion. Vote – 7 in favor, 1 opposed. Motion carried.

FINANCIAL REPORTS

Mr. Laino gave the financial report. Health insurance costs continue to be a concern, and a cost analysis of switching to a premium-based plan is still in progress.

Mr. Barbato made a motion to approve the Financial Report as presented. Mr. Armstrong seconded the motion. Vote-Unanimous

Chairman Snyder presented the Petty Cash Report as of February 28, 2009. Mr. Russell made a motion to approve the Petty Cash Report as presented. Mr. Luther seconded the motion.

Vote-Unanimous

ADMISSIONS & ENROLLMENT

Dr. Hawes gave the admissions and enrollment report. Admissions look strong for the fall, 2009 semester. Enrollment is still up from last year.

PERSONNEL

Mr. Russell made a motion to approve Promotion, Merit and Tenure Recommendations as presented. Mr. Armstrong seconded the motion. Vote-Unanimous Promotion as presented:

Associate Professor to Professor	Dr. Lynn Martin – Social Science
Assistant Professor to Associate Professor	Gale Farley – Humanities Robert Gassmann - Humanities
Instructor to Assistant Professor	Pepe Aragon - MAHPES

Merit as presented: Aaron Alford, Jamie Kowalczik, Pamela Mazzorana, Patricia Miller.

Tenure as presented: Jason Brown, Lawrence Snyder, Faith Thompson

Mrs. Angela Semo presented Resolution 08-19 (MOU change in Length of Obligation – Librarian). This resolution changes the length of obligation for one of the Librarians from 12-month to 10-month effective March 20, 2009.

Mr. Armstrong made a motion to approve Resolution 08-19 as presented. Mr. Barbato seconded the motion. Vote – Unanimous

Chairman Snyder brought Resolution 08-16 (Approval of Academic Senate) back from the table for further discussion.

Mr. Armstrong made a motion to remove Article 6 Section 1.c. from the by-laws.

Mr. Russell seconded the motion.

Vote to accept the removal of Article 6 Section 1.c. from the by-laws – 6 in favor, 2 opposed. Motion carried.

Mr. Russell made a motion to amend Resolution 08-16 to include a trial period for the Academic Senate of one year, and to further accept the by-laws pending faculty approval. Mrs. Crandall seconded the motion.

Vote to accept the by-laws as amended pending faculty approval, and to accept Resolution 08-16 as amended – 7 in favor, 1 opposed. Motion carried.

Dr. Murray presented Resolution 08-20 (Support of Culture of Assessment). This resolution supports the college's efforts to create a culture of assessment in order to remain compliant with the requirements of the Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Mr. Luther made a motion to accept Resolution 08-20 as presented. Mr. Dunn seconded the motion. Vote – Unanimous

Dr. Murray recognized Cynthia Gabriel and the members of the Promotion and Tenure committee, Jason Brown, Clare Burth, Tabitha Carter, Patty McDaniel, Mark Polkosnik, and Rebecca Ward, for their efforts during this year's process.

Mr. Russell moved to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Dunn seconded the motion. Vote-Unanimous

The meeting adjourned at 9:12 p.m. jm