Five Herkimer College Employees Honored with SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

Five Herkimer College employees recently were honored with the 2014 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence at the College’s Commencement. “Faculty and staff who receive the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence have served their students, fellow faculty and staff, campuses and communities with the utmost distinction,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “Individuals selected for this honor are role models within the SUNY community,” she added. 

Mary Ann Carroll, Associate Professor of Radio-TV Broadcasting is a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. Interim President Nicholas Laino said, “An outstanding member of our College’s faculty for 28 years, Professor Carroll’s high level of organization, focus on producing the highest quality of work and her collegial nature have allowed her to successfully take on a variety of leadership roles and special projects at the College. She has served the institution with consistent excellence, often at a critical hour.” Carroll served as Associate Dean of Academic Affairs overseeing the College’s Humanities Division during a time of transition. More recently, she filled a need for an assessment coordinator. In this role, Carroll co-authored a monitoring report required by the Middle States Commission leading to a 10 year reaccreditation for the College. Carroll was appointed to the Herkimer College Faculty in 1986.

Karen Congdon is a recipient of the Award for Excellence in Classified Service. An Office Assistant II for the Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs for Adjunct Instruction, Congdon exemplifies the superior service to our students and the community at large that this award is intended to recognize. “In her more than 12 years of service at Herkimer College, Karen has earned a reputation for striving to meet the needs of our students and their families. Her patience, warmth and kindness have been shown in every new assignment,” said Laino. Congdon was hired in 2001.

Assistant Professor of Biology Jennifer Herzog is a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Laino said, “Whether addressing a classroom full of college students or a group of faculty colleagues at a professional conference, Professor Herzog expresses her ideas in a logical and forthright manner. She is clear and concise, and her presentation is meaningful to her students. Professor Herzog’s abilities as an educator and her commitment to the advancement of Herkimer College and SUNY represent the high standards of achievement.” Herzog was appointed to the Herkimer College faculty in 2001.

Pamela Mazzorana, Director of the Child Care Center, is a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service. For over 20 years, Mazzorana has supervised the Child Care Center, benefiting students and staff, the local community and the College’s academic programming. Laino said, “Thanks to Pam’s hard work and outstanding leadership, the Child Care Center has become accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children. She places a priority on ensuring that the Center’s programs are up-to-date with current trends and best practices in childcare and early childhood education.” The Center is most notably connected with the College’s Early Childhood Education Program. Mazzorana was hired in 1990.

Associate Professor of Travel & Tourism Debra Sutton is a recipient of the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Sutton teaches on-campus and online and serves as academic advisor for most students in the program. Sutton developed the learning outcomes and objectives for the curriculum, and mapped a new direction for the program to ensure it remains current and relevant to a rapidly evolving industry. “Professor Sutton’s true love is teaching. She has earned the respect and admiration of her students,” said Laino. Sutton joined the Herkimer College faculty in 1991.

Fifty-four members of Herkimer’s faculty and staff have earned the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence over the years. Award recipients’ names are engraved on a plaque in the Robert McLaughlin College Center. A certificate and Chancellor’s Excellence medallion are bestowed upon each honoree to commemorate selection.

← View All News