Commencement 2021

Congratulations to our 2021 graduates!

Herkimer County Community College held its 53rd annual Commencement virtually on Friday, May 14.

There were 389 graduates and candidates for associate degrees and certificates. Of those, 89 completed their degrees entirely online through the College’s Internet Academy.

Isabella Crandall, chairwoman of the Herkimer College board of trustees, presided over the ceremony. President Cathleen McColgin presented several awards and conferred degrees with assistance from Provost Michael Oriolo and Dean of Students and Director of Athletics Donald Dutcher. April Harris, assistant professor of cybersecurity, represented the faculty as macebearer.

Isabella Adamo ’21, a Liberal Arts & Sciences: General Studies, A.A. student from Barneveld, NY, sang and signed the national anthem. Pastor George H. Smith, Jr. of New Life Church in Herkimer, who is also a professor of chemistry at Herkimer College, delivered the invocation and benediction. This year’s student speech, titled “Who Are Your Mentors,” was delivered by Aidan McFerran ’21, a Physical Therapist Assistant, A.A.S. student from Delmar, NY.

Remarks were provided by Student Government President Taylor Listovitch ’21, of Ilion, NY; Harris, as president of the Academic Senate; Herkimer County Legislature Chair Vincent J. Bono; SUNY Chancellor Jim Malatras; and several elected officials.

The SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence were awarded to Carynn Bohley ’21, of Salem, NY; Kaitlyn Jenks ’21, of Canajoharie, NY; and Listovitch.

We encourage you all to share your graduation photos, celebrations, and more with your fellow alumni by using #HerkGrad21 on social media.